Abbeyside Ballinacourty GAA

Founded 1967

Co. Waterford

Club Notes - 21st December

Download our mobile app to hear more about Abbeyside Ballinacourty GAA.

See More

Annual General Meeting

Our AGM took place in St Laurence’s Hall Ballinroad on Friday 02nd December with a good number of people in attendance.

Pakie Hurney gave a detailed breakdown of income and expenditure for the year and thanked all for their assistance during the last twelve months. Chairman on behalf of all in the club thanked Pakie for the professional manner in which he handled the club’s finances during the year.

Jonathan O’Donovan reported on all on and off field activities for the year. The chairman on behalf of the club thanked the secretary for his work during the year.

The chairman began his address by sympathising with all those involved in the club who lost loved ones over the course of the year. He especially remembered Shauna McGrath, Anthony Rochford, Antoinette Enright and Fr. Colin Fives, OSA (Club Vice President). A minute’s silence was observed by all present.

He then thanked all the team managers and players for their commitment in 2022. An unprecedented injury crisis impacted greatly on all our team’s abilities to perform to their highest level.

He then expressed appreciation to Jack and Seán O’Hare for Adesco’s continued sponsorship of the club, which included the purchase of a new defibrillator for our club grounds. Gratitude to all who bought and sold tickets and organised events, especially the in-person bingo which returned in February was offered. Special recognition was given to Timmy Organ for refereeing many challenge matches free of charge, thus saving the club money on each occasion.

The club is in the process of transferring to the GAA’s Corporate Trustee model. As Moira Mansfield will no longer be a trustee under this new model, the chairman proposed making Moira and Honorary Club President. This was unanimously agreed.

Presidents: Liam Enright, Joseph Organ, Bernard Shields, Fr. Michael Enright, P.E., Moira Mansfield

Vice Presidents: Fr. Michael Brennock, Fr. Ned Hassett, PP

Chairman: Neil Moore

Assistant Chairman: Michael Ferncombe

Secretary: Jonathan O’Donovan

Treasurer: Pakie Hurney

Membership Officer: Kevin Tobin

Committee: Eddie O’Halloran, Michael O’Donovan, Jim O’Mahony, Carmel Power, Timmy Organ, Danny McGrath, Tom Whelan, Michelle Kiely, Karl Power (Juvenile Chairman) & Tomás Kiely.

Club Lotto

Our weekly lotto takes place on Tuesday night next. Next week's Jackpot will be €5,400. Tickets can be purchased from club sellers and by clicking on the following link -

U20 Hurling

The U20 hurlers go their championship underway versus Fourmilewater last Sunday in the Gold Coast after a false start the prior week due to the weather. In what was a very enjoyable game, a fine second half performance saw us home by 6 points. Next up is the Western Final and once a fixture becomes available we will post on our social media.


All in the club would like to express our deepest sympathies to Fr Ned Hassett on the death of his mother last week.

Happy Christmas

As these are our last notes for this year, we’d like to wish all our members and supporters all the best this Christmas season and a Happy New Year. Thank you for your support the past 12 months.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play